you can’t save them all

cannot-save-them-all.jpg

Frustration is the unpleasant feeling you have when you try to achieve something, but you fail. This is a feeling I often get on teaching days:

– when I look into vacant eyes

– when I see bored faces

– when I sit among people who refuse to think, even about their own lives

when I preach, especially in an annoyed manner

George Carlin says “Kids are just like any other group of citizens. A few winners, a whole lotta losers. You can’t save them all. You can’t save them all.”

Accepting the fact that I cannot save them all is essential right now. It prevents me from being too harsh on myself. I have to repeat this saying every day, all the time, in order to survive.

Yet, I do believe that I can’t save them all NOW, but tomorrow I’ll be able to save more of them because I will have learned a bit more about how to do it.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nevencheto on February 11, 2007 at 11:24 am

    How could you save people who don’t understand what you are trying to save them from?

    Reply

  2. I might learn how to teach them? Any tips on what might make them tick?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nevencheto on February 11, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Hm…I have thought about it and have an idea.But you may not like it
    I think the problem is that people are not used to be responsible for their developement.You should tell them exactly what to do.You tell them to read books in english for fun.They ask :”Which books?” ; you say to reread the tests for the for the unfamiliar words.They will say they don’y know when exactly to rereaed themm.You say them to choose a topics from the lists.They don’t know which topics to choose.
    students here are used to being given defined tasks.
    it’s getting even more difficult for the personal preparation for sat 2
    it may sound ridiculuos but may be at some point you will make some people write sentences with the unfamiliar words to remember.
    i have a suggestion about the essays-i think it’s a good idea to discuss the topics in advance and and write the essays after that.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nevencheto on February 11, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    by the way, i’m happy you started writing here:)
    what sometimes people need to start to work is a cool example;)

    Reply

  5. well, you can write on any topic – a discussed or not discussed one. i have never specified that. however, when writing on a test essay topic when taking a real test, you’ll be writing on a topic you have never discussed, so you should have had experience with thinking on your own feet 🙂

    Reply

  6. That’s right. Students should rely on their own strengths. They’ll fail once, they’ll fail twice and they’ll start to look around themselves and to cope with everything on their own. I think 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

