For college applicants only: Stan Bogdanov presents …

When: Monday, 3 p.m.

Where: my office

What:

1. my former student Stan Bogdanov lecturing on US college education 30-60 minutes in English

2. a discussion with Stan

My room cannot accomodate for everyone, so … people who wish to attend the lecture, please, tell me you’re coming by writing a comment below. The first 12 people will be accepted – the early bird gets the worm 🙂

For people who wish to talk to ME only … I’ll be available from 4.30 to 6, after the lecture.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Greg Francis on November 23, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Here are key considerations for college:
    1) Does state where college is located screw students for drinking. Ex. Pa. charges 300 bucks and yanks your license for first offense for drinking any alcohol–outrageous. 20 Year olds get arrested for one sip, have their license yanked, and get tossed from some state colleges for violating the law.
    2) Do you get 3 or 4 credits for your courses. Many state schools only give 3, which means to graduate you take roughly twenty five percent more exams and write 25% more papers. Dont buy the bs you work harder in 4 credit courses. Its generally nonsense. Five courses each semester croaks students.
    3) What are the requriements for graduation. They vary dramatically, and fewer requirements means teachers can screw you less, and you decide what you want to study. Brown, Smith and Amherst have just major requirements. Umass and Suny screw you with more requirements than a computer can count.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Радина on November 23, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Sounds great. I am coming.:)

    Reply

  3. I am coming too…Stan knows me from facebook 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by plamen on November 23, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I’m coming, too

    Reply

  5. Posted by kokotanekova on November 23, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I’d like to come 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’d like to come, too.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Zhaneta on November 23, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I am coming, too.
    🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by Misho on November 24, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    The lecture was great! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by Бисер on November 27, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Dear Lidia Staikova,
    Happy Thanksgiving Day !
    It is my pleasure to read your inspirational and educational blog pages.
    Sometime is a flight over my distant past,
    sometime is a flight over coo-coo nest.
    The wing beneath your wing is always refreshing.
    Thank you.
    I have a Thanksgiving gift for you.
    “The Civilisation” by Kennet Clark, first edition 1967,
    as you have wish it.

    To you, your family and students my best wishes,

    Bisser Stoyanov
    biscophoto@aol.com

    PS- I have experienced difficulties to e-mail you on
    lid.students@gmail.com

    Reply

  10. Oh, thank you so much! I have always enjoyed your inspirational comments in my blogs 🙂

    As for my address, you’ve made a little mistake. I’ll write back to you 🙂

    Reply

  11. Yeah… that lecture was only 30-60mins, right? ;)… lol…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

