Meet Rumen

when we first met

when we first met

In the spring of 2006 he was brought to one of our newspaper editorial meetings ( become a fan of our newspaper on Facebook 😀 ). He was a sweet and fresh guy, so I liked him a lot. Then we gave up the newspaper, and he disappeared for more than a year to come back as a student of mine.

smiley

smiley

At the very beginning, he looked happy and smiled a lot. He was waiting for the brand new world to open up in front of  him after high school graduation. However, things did not turn out as he expected, so now he looks like that:

sad

sad

I believe it’s a passing phase, and I’ll live to see him smile again. It will take some time and … writing 😉 Rumen started a blog. I am its first fan, and I hope you read and comment in it. You can also become Rumen Rachev’s friend on Facebook and/or meet him in person and involve him in your offline activities.

dreamer

dreamer

Help Rumen realize he is not the only dreamer around 🙂 Actually, there are much braver dreamers among us 🙂

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vesi on January 8, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I really liked the blog… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Do comment there 🙂 Right now Rumen has a problem with his computer and, perhaps, has not discovered my text yet 😀

    Reply

  3. Haha 🙂 I left several comments and added him in Facebook 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rumen on January 10, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Now I saw this article.
    Promise to not tell anyone..but I actually cry, after reading this.
    Thanks alot!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Misho on January 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Lydia, that’s not true!!!
    I added Rumen several times on facebook, but he rejected my request!
    So… the truth is: We can HARDLY become Rumen Rachev’s friend on facebook.
    He also said that working for me is a slavery, provided that you now work ONLY on his application…
    Furthermore, when I visited you in your office on Mondays, and I found Rumen explaining to you where he has gone and how he has taken the bus to Mineralni Bani and swam there, and so on… In this time, there were many students, waiting for him to finish up his extraneous explanations and stories… We were there to ask and discuss serious and important questions on the application process and documents and then go back to our home, writing essays and preparing the documents, but yet we had to waste our valuable time in listening to his stories. I think he should tell you this stories in another time and place, because your office hours were really very important for us.
    Now, Lydia and everybody else, put yourself in my shoes, and tell me what would you think about Rumen, if you were me?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Rumen on January 11, 2009 at 10:36 am

    “So… the truth is: We can HARDLY become Rumen Rachev’s friend on facebook.”

    The real truth is, that because of such comments, I don’t want to be your friend, anywere, not just on Facebook.
    Deal with it.
    Still- other people are welcome to add me, just please don’t get in Misho shoes. They can be a little Too big for you 😉

    Reply

  7. Posted by Misho on January 11, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Rumen, I wrote this comment yesterday and you didn’t accept my request long time ago. What you said is illogical, because my comment is result of your actions, not the opposite. In fact, I don’t need friends on facebook…I have too many…I just want to be in good relationships with you. 😉
    About my comment…. my comment is a criticism to you. In fact, you’ll be criticized many times in your life, so I don’t think such comment should scare you, or make you feel bad. You have to be open for the critics of the people and not accept them as offence, or something like that!
    About your last sentance ‘just please don’t get in Misho shoes. They can be a little Too big for you’ – I interpret them as ‘Misho is very stupid boy…don’t think like him’ , which is offence… I hope you know which people attack – the scared and/or the unhappy.

    Reply

  8. Misho: I think your first comment is a little bit too intense. I think Lydia has mind of her own and if Rumen is losing her time she would cut him off and tell him to come another time.

    Rumen: I sent you a request on Facebook and I will be more than happy if you add me because I think the way you feel for BG right and everything else is pretty similar to how I felt before and even still feel sometimes and I will be happy to keep in touch with you and share ideas 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by Misho on January 11, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Thanks about the opinion, Vesi 🙂
    In fact, the post is about Rumen, not about me, so it’s not logical and relevant to discuss me 🙂
    I’m just brave and bold enough to express freely my opinion and criticism, although it may not be liked by some people.
    I said that Rumen was losing OUR time, not Lydia’s time – please don’t distort my words 😉
    And I’m almost sure that for Lydia, it’s more pleasant to listen to Rumen’s stories than to our application questions. 😉
    If you think that the comment, I posted is intense, then I’d like to see your face, when you hear some REALLY INTENSE comment by me 😀

    Reply

  10. Dear Misho, Rumen is one of my students, and a college applicant too, so it’s only fair to spend as much time for him as I spend for you. I’ll be working with Rumen now because I did not work much on his application before Christmas, so that I could have more time help students who were applying to US, i.e. to help you, Misho.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Rumen on January 12, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I enjoy the drama, but it’s getting too long.
    I hope that Misho is taking notes, that even he have a opinion, that dosent mean, he have to drop it down, evrywhere he see. He have to grow up, someday.
    Anyhow- I add you Vesi, and I will be happy to write with you.
    Thanks again, Lydia.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Misho on January 12, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Instead of writing IRRELEVANT things, like ‘Misho’s shoes are too big’ , ‘my comments are a little too intense’

    Rumen, I’ve grown up much more than you, becasue I learned something very important – I learned to accept criticism, unlike you, who don’t/can’t accept my criticism. In fact, you can’t expect only nice words from the people about you….criticism is something normal, something essential.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Misho on January 12, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Instead of writing IRRELEVANT things, like ‘Misho’s shoes are too big’ , ‘my comments are a little too intense’ and explaining me for whom you’ve been working before and after Christmas, you should have answered my question: Put youself in my shoes, and tell me what would you think about Rumen if you were me?
    Moreover, it’s not appropriate to comment me, provided that the topic is ‘Meet RUMEN’. In such topic, the main topic of discussion should be Rumen, not me!
    Rumen, I’ve grown up much more than you, becasue I learned something very important – I learned to accept criticism, unlike you, who don’t/can’t accept my criticism. In fact, you can’t expect only nice words from the people about you….criticism is something normal, something essential.

    Reply

  14. From this conversation I have learned that people who do not add every friendship request on Facebook deserve severe criticism 😀

    Reply

  15. Oh wow, this is getting long for sure.

    I ignore friends requests very often on Facebook 😛

    Reply

  16. Posted by Misho on January 12, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    hahaha 😀
    I agree with Lydia 😛
    People who waste my time or say that working for me is a slavery also deserve it 😀
    and by the way, I NEVER reject friend requests 😉

    Reply

  17. Posted by Working for you it's DRAMA. on January 13, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    ” I NEVER reject friend requests” – You are so good drama queen.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Rumen on January 13, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    ” who don’t/can’t accept my criticism” – it’s just a stuped statement. It’s not a criticism. So..you suck?..This is my criticism for you, my lad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

